firearms

   Russia

Assault rifles Russia

18.5 mm 18,5 KS-K Saiga-12 Ver.030 special smooth-bore carbine

Saiga-12 special smooth-bore carbine
Saiga-12 Ver.030 special smooth-bore carbine

 
  Specifications Saiga-12 Ver.030

Caliber....................................................................12 mm
Cartridge...................................................12 х 70, 12 х 76
Weapon weight w/o magazine.................................3,8 kg
Lengt....................................................................910 mm
Barrel length.........................................................430 mm
Rate of fire........................................................40 rds/min
Sighting range.....50-100 m (with bullet), 35-70 m (with shot)
Magazine capacit ...................................................4, 8 rds
 
 

    Combat smooth-bore firearms capable of firing with shot, canister, bullet and special rounds (e. g. with tear gas) make up a specific class of close combat weapons used mainly in police and anti-terrorist operations. Traditionally the most reliable hunting-calibre smooth-bore magazine-fed firearms were used, but after some time growing attention was paid to self-loading models. Such self-loading shotguns have also appeared in Russian families of smooth-bore weapons based on the Kalashnikov system. They are also named smoothbore carbines.
     In 2003 a family of the Saiga self-loading shotguns and carbines produced by the Izhevsk Machine-building Plant accepted a new member — the 12-gauge Saiga-12 Ver. 030 shotgun. That model was derived from the Saiga-12K commercial model with side-folding stock and pistol grip. The Saiga-12 has a gas-operated mechanism. The breech is locked by a rotating bolt with new dimensions and design to comply with cartridge parameters. The return mechanism carries a sliding shield blocking the reloading handle slot when the safety lock is engaged. The firing mechanism of hammer type allows conducting only semi-automatic (single-shot) fire.
     In contrast to the commercial model the Saiga-12 Ver. 030 carbine has no blocking unit of the firing mechanism, i. e. this carbine can conduct fire with its stock both extended and folded. There are some other significant differences too. Thus, an automatic halt of the bolt (bolt stop) is introduced; it can be manually activated and deactivated with the magazine detached.
     The front sight base attachment is integrated with the gas chamber. The receiver is provided with a detachable bracket for installation of optical or collimator sight. The hinged receiver cover is provided with the Picatinny rail for mounting an optical or collimator sight even with the folded stock. The Picatinny type rail installed under the gas chamber enables mounting a laser target designator or a tactical flashlight. The carbine is equipped with the plastic folding stock (fitted with recoil-absorbing pad on the butt plate), pistol grip and forearm. Slot-type muzzle sleeve serves as a flash suppressor and enables firing with the barrel propped against an obstacle, e. g. when shooting to destroy door locks. Optional muzzle adapters for firing with propelling and other rounds are also proposed.
     Rounds are fed from a detachable box magazine. The magazine chamber mouth is designed to make insertion of the magazine more reliable and allows its changing by touch. The gas drive operates with all types of 12-gauge cartridges.
     There were reports about the development of Saiga ammunition for a wide range of tasks, including cartridges with rubber bullets, cartridges with improved penetrating effect and cartridges for gas grenade propelling.
     This design became the basis for the 18s5 KS-K self-loading special carbine adopted for service with the Ministry of Interior of the Russian Federation an July 2006. The number 1835 in the carbine designation means that the 12 gauge of smooth-bore shotgun corresponds to the barrel bore diametre of about 18.5 mm. The carbine uses ammunition with both lethal and non-lethal effect. The former class is represented, for instance, by the KSP-P rounds with lead bullet and KSP-BP with armour-piercing bullet, while the latter class — by the KSP RP round with traumatic-action rubber bullet.
     The smooth-bore carbine also attracted attention of foreign experts.
     The Molot Vyatsko-Polyansky Machine-Building Plant designed a weapon only slightly different from the Izhevsk Saiga modification. Both products were displayed simultaneously at the Interpolitex 2005 exhibition. This is quite understandable as two designs are based on the same system, intended to solve the same tasks and use the same magazines. The Vyatsko-Polyansky Plant designers presented their version of a smooth-bore carbine within the family of the Vepr self-loading weapon developed on the basis of the RPK light machine gun.

Saiga-12 Ver.030 special smooth-bore carbine
Saiga-12 Ver.030 special smooth-bore carbine

стрелковое оружие

   России

Автоматы России

18,5-мм гладкоствольный карабин специальный «Сайга-12 Исп. 030» (18,5 КС-К)

гладкоствольный карабин специальный Сайга-12 Исп. 030
Гладкоствольный карабин специальный «Сайга-12 Исп. 030»

 
  Тактико технические характеристики

Калибр.....................................................................12 мм
Патрон......................................................12 х 70, 12 х 76
Масса оружия без магазина.....................................3,8 кг
Длина с откинутым прикладом.............................910 мм
Длина со сложеным прикладом............................725 мм
Длина ствола.........................................................430 мм
Темп стрельбы.............................................40 выстр./мин
Прицельная дальность....35-70 м (дробь), 50-100 м (пуля)
Емкость магазина....................................4 или 8 патронов
 
 

    Специфическим оружием ближнего боя, находящим применение в основном в полицейских и контртеррористических операциях, являются боевое гладкоствольное оружие, способное вести огонь дробовыми, картечными, пулевыми и специальными патронами (например, со «слезоточивой» рецептурой). Традиционно применялись наиболее надежные образцы гладкоствольного оружия «охотничьих» калибров магазинной схемы, но со временем все большее внимание стали привлекать самозарядные образцы. Такие самозарядные ружья появились и в российских семействах гладкоствольного оружия на основе «системы та Калашникова». Они именуются также «гладкоствольными карабинами».
     В 2003 г. в семействе самозарядных ружей и карабинов «Сайга», выпускающихся Ижевским машиностроительным заводом, появилось ружье 12-го охотничьего калибра «Сайга-12 Исп. 030». Эта модель стала развитием коммерческой «Сайги-12К», снабженной складывающимся вбок прикладом и пистолетной рукояткой. «Сайга-12» имеет автоматику с газовым двигателем. Запирание канала ствола производится поворотом затвора, конструкция и размеры которого изменены в соответствии с особенностями ружейного патрона. Возвратный механизм несет подвижный щиток, перекрывающий паз для прохода рукоятки заряжания при выключенном предохранителе. Ударно-спусковой механизм куркового типа допускает ведение только одиночного огня.
     Главное отличие конструкции карабина «Сайга-12 Исп. 030» от коммерческой модели заключается в отсутствии устройства блокировки ударно-спускового механизма, т.е. он может вести огонь как при откинутом прикладе, так и при сложенном. Есть ряд других существенных отличий. Так, введен автоматический останов затвора (затворная задержка), который может также включаться и выключаться вручную при отсоединенном магазине.
     Крепление мушки совмещено с газовой камерой. На ствольной коробке предусмотрено крепление съемного кронштейна для установки оптического или коллиматорного прицела. Крышка ствольной коробки крепится на шарнире и несет планку типа «Пикатини», что позволяет использовать оптический или коллиматорный прицел и при сложенном прикладе. Планка типа «Пикатини» под газовой камерой позволяет установить на ружье лазерный целеуказатель или тактический фонарь. Карабин снабжен пластмассовыми складывающимся прикладом (с амортизатором на затылке), пистолетной рукояткой, цевьем. Щелевой дульный насадок служит пламегасителем и позволяет производить стрельбу с упором ствола в препятствие — например, при разрушении выстрелом дверных запоров. Предложены также варианты насадков для стрельбы вышибными патронами и др.
     Питание патронами — из отъемного коробчатого магазина. Горловина приемника магазина делает надежнее его крепление и облегчает замену магазина на ощупь. Газовый двигатель автоматики работает при всех типах патронов 12-го калибра. Сообщалось о разработке для «Сайги» боеприпасов для решения широкого круга задач, включая патроны с резиновыми пулями, с улучшенным проникающим действием, патроны для метания газовых гранат.
     Эта разработка стала основой для самозарядного «карабина специального» 18,5 КС-К, принятого на вооружение органов внутренних дел РФ в июле 2006 г. Число «18,5» в обозначении карабина связано с тем, что 12-й калибр гладкоствольного ружья соответствует диаметру канал ствола около 18,5 мм. К карабину принять» боеприпасы летального (смертельного) и нелетального поражения. Первые представлены, например, патронами КСП-П со свинцовой пулей и КСП-БП с бронебойной пулей, вторые — патроном КСП-РП с резиновой пулей травматического действия.
     Гладкоствольный карабин вызвал интерес также зарубежных слециалистов.
     Незначительно отличается от этой модификации ижевской «Сайги» детище Вятско-полянского машиностроительного завода «Молот», представленное вместе с описанной ««Сайгой» уже на выставке «Интерполитех-2005». Что и понятно - в основе их лежит одна и та же система, созданы они для решения одних и тех же задач, используют одинаковые магазины. Вятско-полянские конструкторы представили свой вариант гладкоствольного карабина в семействе самозарядного оружия «Вепрь», созданного на основе РПК.

Сайга-12 Исп. 030
гладкоствольный карабин специальный «Сайга-12 Исп. 030»