firearms

   Russia

Pistols

The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol

 

Specifications PMM


Caliber.............................................................9 mm
Cartridge.....................................9x18 MP, 9x18 PMM
Weight w/o cartridges..................................0.76 kg
Length...........................................................169 m
Length of barrel .........................................93.5 mm
Bullet muzzle velocity.......315 (PM), 430 (PMM) m/sec
Effective rate of fire.................................30 rds/min
Sighting range.................................................50 m
Magazine capacity..........................................12 rds

 


    By the late 1980s, a mismatch between the capabilities of the in-service pistol system and the changed conditions for operational of side arms — a wide use of body armor required increased penetration and better accuracy of fire — had become evident, in the early 1990s a PM pistol derivative0 chambered for a new 9x18 PMM high-power cartridge, was proposed for a competition for a new army pistol. The new shape of the bullet weighing 5.54 g (as against 6.0 g for the old bullet) and a higher muzzle velocity (420 m/s) combined to ensure belter ballistics, higher penetration, and lower ricochet probability.
     Izhevsk Mechanical Plant's designers B. M. Pletsky and R. G. Shigapov developed the upgraded Makarov PMM pistol (56-A-125M) chambered for the new round. The pistol has been in production at Izhevsk Mechanical Plant since 1994.
     Externally, the PMM differs from the baseline Makarov PM in a larger notched pistol grip to ensure greater stability during a shot. The PMM can be fitted with a single-column 8-round magazine or a double-column 12-cartridge magazine (the variants are designated PMM-8 and PMM-12, respectively). Magazines with a capacity of over ten rounds are typical of modern combat pistols. A smooth transition of the double-column magazine into a single-column neck allowed designers not to modify the magazine cavity and the slide.
     Three spiral grooves on the chamber wails enabled the PMM pistol lo fire both the high-power and standard cartridges. When a shot is fired, the cartridge case walls are pressed into the grooves by the powder gas pressure - this increases the resistance to the cartridge case's backward motion, while preventing it from a cross break. At the same time the higher the bore pressure, the greater is the resistance, meaning that the high-power cartridge generates the required bore unlocking delay. When the PMM pistol fires standard 57-N-181S rounds, the chamber grooves offer almost no resistance to the cartridge case when it moves longitudinally to the rear.
     A modified pistol grip can markedly improve the accuracy of fire. Some experts estimate the accuracy of fire to be 1 2-fold greater while others (mostly the experts at IMZ itself) evaluate the improvement at 2- to 2.5-fold.
     However, the PMM cartridge has never become common use. Aside from the common problems typical of the 1990s hindering putting the new round into batch production, there were certain concerns that standard Makarov PM pistols. too, would be used to fire the high-power rounds which might lead to accidents and injuries. Since the 9x18 PM cartridge remained the basic standard round, the spiral grooves were removed and the PMM chamber became similar to that о I the PM pistol. The upgraded Makarov PMM pistols were delivered to the Ministry of Interior, the Federal Guard Service, and also to the Armed Forces (in limited numbers).


Photo review modernized Makarov pistol - PMM
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 1
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 2
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 3
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 4
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 5
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 6
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 7
The Makarov PMM updated self-loading pistol, photo 8
All photos modernized Makarov pistol - PMM   >>

МЕНЮ

Пистолеты России

 RU / EN 

Современные пистолеты России

Пистолет Макарова модернизированный - ПММ

Пистолет ПММПистолет Макарова модернизированный - ПММ

К концу 1980-х годов стало очевидно несоответствие состоящего на вооружении пистолетного комплекса изменившимся условиям боевого применения личного оружия — широкое применение средств индивидуальной бронезащиты требовало повышения пробивного действия пули и улучшения кучности стрельбы. В начале 1990-х годов на конкурс на новый армейский пистолет была предложена модификация ПМ под новый высокоимпульсный патрон 9x18 ПММ. Благодаря новой форме пуле массой 5,54 г (против прежних 6,0 г) и выросшей до 420 м/с начальной скорости улучшилась баллистика, воз» росло пробивное действие, уменьшилась вероятность рикошетов.

Под новый патрон на Ижевском механическом заводе Б. М. Плецким и Р. Г. Шигаповым был создан образец, получивший обозначение «пистолет-Макарова модернизированный» (ПММ0 индекс 56-А-125М) и серийно выпускаемый ФГУП «Ижевский механический завод» с 1994 года.

Внешне пистолет отличает от ПМ увеличенная рукоятка с насечкой на задней поверхности для большей устойчивости в ладони во время выстрела. ПММ может комплектоваться однорядным магазином на 8 или двухрядным на 12 патронов (соответственно встречаются обозначения ПММ-8 и ПММ-12). Увеличение емкости магазина свыше 10 патронов типично для современных боевых пистолетов. Плавный переход двухрядного магазина в верхней части к однорядной горловине позволил не переделывать гнездо магазина и затвор.

Три винтовые канавка на стенках патронника дали возможность использовать в одном образце высокоимпульсный и обычный патроны. При выстреле стенки гильзы вжимаются давлением пороховых газов в канавки, это увеличивают силу сопротивления движению гильзы иазад8 не приводя в то же время к ее поперечному разрыву. При этом сопротивление тем больше, чем больше давление в канале ствола, а значит — при высокоимпульсном патроне обеспечивается необходимая задержка отпирания канала ствола. При стрельбе штатными патронами (57-Н-181С) торможения продольного движения гильзы канавками патронника почти не происходит.

Неполная разборка пистолета ПММНеполная разборка пистолета ПММ

Изменение органов удержания может заметно улучшить кучность стрельбы из пистолета —- одни оценивают рост кучности в 12 раза, другие (прежде всего специалисты самого «Иж-мех») — в 2-2,5 раза.

Однако патрон ПММ так и не нашел широкого применения. Кроме общих для 1990-х годов проблем, затруднявших постановку на массовое производство нового боеприпаса, здесь сыграло роль опасение, что высокоимпульсным патроном начнут стрелять и из штатных ПМ, что может привести к авариям и травмам. Поскольку основным остался патрон 9x18 ПМ, убрали и винтовые канавки на стенках патронника, так что патронник ПММ теперь аналогичен ПМ. Пистолеты ПММ поставлялись в службы МВД, Федеральную службу охраны, в небольшом количестве — в армию.


Тактико технические характеристики пистолета ПММ

Калибр: 9 мм
Патрон: 9х18 ПМ, 9х18 ПММ
Масса оружия без патронов: 0,76 кг
Длина оружия: 169 мм
Длина ствола: 93,5 мм
Начальная скорость пули: 315 (ПМ), 430 (ПММ) м/с
Боевая скорострельность: 30 выстр./мин
Прицельная дальность: 50 м
Емкость магазина: 12 патронов


 Фотообзор пистолета ПММ