firearms

   Russia

Machine guns Rossia

PKM/PKMS Kalashnikov modernized machine gun

PKM
PKM machine gun on a bipod

PKM
PKM machine gun

     
   Specifications PKM

Caliber......................................................................7,62 mm
Cartridge...............................................................7,62 x 53 R
Weight of PKM w/o ammunition load...........................7,5 kg
Weight of PK w/o ammunition load..............................9,0 kg
Machine gun length................................................1,173 mm
Machine gun length on mount................................1,270 mm
Barrel length..............................................................658 mm
Bullet muzzle velocity..............................................825 m/sec
Rate of fire...........................................................650 rds/min
Effective rate of fire..............................................250 rds/min
Sighting range...........................................................1,500 m
Cartridge-belt capacity...............................100, 200 or 250 rds
 
 

    The Kalashnikov machine gun underwent upgrades, primarily aimed at reducing the weight, simplifying production, and facilitating easier operation. The upgraded machine gun, designated 6P6M PKM, was fielded in 1969, Most basic specifications of the PKM are identical Го those of the PK machine gun. The receiver cover became more rigid due to lengthwise ribs. The bull was fitted with a hinged butt-rest. Later on the PKM was equipped with a plastic bull-stock of the same shape.
     In addition to the cartridge, the machine gun proper, and the sight, mounts also play an important part in a machine gun system. The 6T5 tripod mount, designed by L. V. Stepanov for the PKM machine gun entered the inventory in 1969. The mount is based on a principle of multi-function components: the elevation mechanism frame is also used as a pole for anti-aircraft fire; the base sleeve also serves as the axis for attaching rear legs of the tripod: the machine gun attachment is combined with the elevation mechanism frame lock for anti-aircraft fire; the fine elevation adjustment mechanism is integrated with the elevation mechanism axis. The ammunition box can be secured to the right rear tripod leg. This enables one crew member to carry and operate the gun in combat without having to unload the gun for moves. As a result, Stepanov designed a lighter mount for the general-purpose machine gun without affecting the accuracy of fire: the ratio of the tripod weight to the machine gun weight was reduced down to 0.6. Besides, the Stepanow mount has 20 fewer components than the Samozhenkov tripod and is 40% less labour intensive.
     The PKM/PKMS machine gun is considered to be one of the world s best, as far as the combination of high combat efficiency, reliability, maneuverability, and combat readiness both on the bipod and the tripod is concerned.
     The PKM has repeatedly lived up to its reputation of a reliable and easy-to-operate weapon with outstanding combat capabilities in the course of both comparative tests and combat operations In low-intensity and armed conflicts in various corners of the compass.
     The PKM machine gun is in service with many foreign states and a number of countries, including Bulgaria Hungary, China, and Romania, produce its replicas and models.

PKMS
PKMS machine gun on a Stepanov mount intended for ground targets

МЕНЮ

Пулеметы России

 RU / EN 

Современные пулеметы России

Пулемет Калашникова модернизированный - ПКМ, ПКМС

ПКМПулемет ПКМ на сошке

ПКМПулемет ПКМ

Пулемет Калашникова был модернизирован, прежде всего, с целью снижения массы, упрощения производства и повышения удобства эксплуатации. Модернизированный пулемет был принят на вооружение в 1969 г. и получил обозначение ПКМ (индекс 6П6М). Тактико-технические характеристики ПКМ в целом идентичны ПК. Массу пулемета удалось снизить на 1,5 кг. Жесткость крышки ствольной коробки повышена продольными ребрами. Приклад получил складной наплечник. Впоследствии ПКМ получил пластмассовый приклад той же конфигурации.

В пулеметном комплексе кроме патрона, самого пулемета и набора прицелов важную роль играют пулеметные установки. К ПКМ в 1969 г. принят новый треножный станок 6Т5 конструкции Л. В. Степанова. В конструкции станка широко использован принцип многофункциональности деталей: в качестве стойки для зенитной стрельбы используется остов механизма вертикального наведения, втулка-основание служит осью крепления задних ног станка, механизм крепления пулемета совмещен с защелкой крепления остова механизма вертикального наведения для зенитной стрельбы, механизм тонкой вертикальной наводки — с осью крепления механизма вертикального наведения. Стойка крепления коробки с лентой на правой задней ноге станка позволила менять позицию без разряжания пулемета. В результате был создан наиболее легкий станок к единому пулемету без ухудшения кучности стрельбы: отношение массы станка к массе самого пулемета уменьшилось до 0,6. К тому же станок Степанова имеет на 20 единиц меньше деталей и на 40% менее трудоемок» чем станок Саможенкова.

Пулемет ПКМ / ПКМС считается одним из лучших пулеметов в мире по сочетанию высокой боевой эффективности, надежности, маневренности и боеготовности как на сошке, так и на станке.

Репутацию надежного и удобного в обращении оружия с хорошими боевыми качествами ПКМ многократно подтвердил как сравнительными испытаниями, так и опытом боевого применения в локальных войнах и вооруженных конфликтах в различных регионах мира.

Пулемет ПКМ состоит на вооружении во многих странах мира, в ряде стран (Болгария, Венгрия, КНР, Румыния) производятся его копии и варианты.

Пулемет ПКМС на станке Степанова

Тактико технические характеристики пулемета ПКМ

Калибр: 7,62 мм
Патрон: 7,62 x 53 R
Масса пулемета ПКМ без боекомплекта: 7,5 кг
Длина пулемета: 1173 мм
Длина пулемета на станке: 1270 мм
Длина ствола: 658 мм
Начальная скорость пули: 825 м/с
Темп стрельбы: 650 выстр./мин
Боевая скорострельность: 250 выстр./мин
Прицельная дальность: 1500 м
Емкость ленты: 100, 200 или 250 патронов

 Фотообзор пулемета ПКМ