firearms

   Russia

Special purpose weapons Russia

SPP-1 and SPP-1M special underwater pistols

SPP-1

     
   Specifications SPP-1M

Caliber...........................................................................4,5 mm
Cartridge...............................................................SPS (4.5x39)
Weight w/o cartridge....................................................0,95 kg
Length..........................................................................244 mm
Barrel length.................................................................203 mm
Muzzle bullet velocity in the air..................................250 m/sec
Sighting range:
  at depth of 5 m..............................................................17 m
  at depth of 20 m............................................................11 m
  at depth of 40 m..............................................................6 m
Cartridge clip capacity.......................................................4 rds
 
 

    The task for developing an underwater pistol for divers was issued in 1968. After several designs using semi-self-propelled and self-propelled ammunition were considered, a multi-barrel non-automatic underwater pistol operating on the self-propelled scheme was selected for further development.
     The pistol was developed by TsniiTochMash designer V. V. Simonov, a grand-nephew of the renowned domestic armorer S. G. Sirnonov, while the 4.5 mm SPS cartridge was designed by P..F. Sazonov and O.P. Kravchenko. The work was done in cooperation with the Tula Arms Plant. The SPS cartridge and the SPP-1 four-barrelled special underwater pistol were fielded in 1971.
     The conditions of bullet motion under water are totally different from those in the air.
     When a bullet leaves the bore, it enters an environment differing from air in density (water features an 800-fold greater density), pressure, and viscosity. Besides, water does not compress. A bullet with small length-to-caliber ratio will simply tip over, and the gyroscopic effect (resulting from spin) will not ensure stability of such a bullet under water. However, a different design of the barrel and the bullet can turn drawbacks into advantages.патрон СПП
     The bullet of the SPS underwater cartridge is an extremely long dart (a length-to-caliber ratio of 25:1, bullet length 115 mm) with a slightly blunt nose and weighs 13.2 g. The bullet is stabilized under water by the cavity pocket, which is generated around the bullet along almost its length — the hydrodynamic cavitation is observed when a bullet moves under water at a high speed. The cavity pocket helps stabilize the bullet. Since there is no need to spin the bullet inside the bore, the bullet is fired from a smooth bore with a gap. The SPS cartridge case features a protruding rimmed base.
     The effective range of fire for the SPS cartridge decreases with the depth at which the pistol is fired, but always exceeds the visual range at a respective depth.
     The bullet can reliably kill an enemy frogman wearing a padded underwater suit. Besides, the SPP pistol may be used by a diver for self-defense against dangerous marine predators.
     The pistol has a tip-up four-barrelled cluster. The cluster is hinged to the frame by pins and is tipped up for loading similar to hunting guns. The design allows the pistol to fire 145-mm long cartridges.
     A special four-round clip is loaded into the barrels of the pistol from the rear. During reloading, the clip with the spent cartridge cases is ejected manually.

     The double-action trigger and firing mechanism includes a rotating firing pin and fires one cartridge sequentially for each pull of the trigger. When the trigger is pulled, the striker rotates by 90° and. moving along the spiral cam, fires the cap of the next cartridge.
     A manual safety Sever is mounted on the left side in a recess of the pistol grip. The safety lever also locks the barrel cluster. The pistol is fitted with an open foresight and a fixed rear sight.
     The SPP-1M pistol, developed in 1979, is equipped with an additional spring to improve the trigger pull in addition the trigger guard is larger to accommodate three-fingered padded diving gloves.
     The pistol is carried in a closed belt holster made of imitation leather. 12 cartridges are carried inside metal waterproof carrying cases.
     Production of the 4.5 mm SPP-1M underwater pistols as well as the 5.56 mm APS underwater assault rifles was established at the Tula Arms Plan! This underwater weapon system intended for combat divers has no direct foreign counterparts.

стрелковое оружие

   России

Специальное оружие России

Специальные подводные пистолеты СПП-1 и СПП-1М

СПП-1М
     
   Тактико технические характеристики СПП-1М

Калибр.............................................................................4,5 мм
Патрон....................................................................СПС (4,5х39)
Масса без патронов.........................................................0,95 кг
Длина оружия.................................................................244 мм
Длина ствола..................................................................203 мм
Начальная скорость пули в воздухе..............................250 м/с
Прицельная дальность:
  на глубине 5 м..................................................................17 м
  на глубине 20 м................................................................11 м
  на глубине 40 м..................................................................6 м
Емкость обоймы..........................................................4 патрона
 
 

    Задание на разработку подводного пистолетного комплекса для вооружения пловцов-аквалангистов было выдано в 1968 г. Из нескольких схем — с использованием активно-реактивного и активного принципа метания для дальнейшей работы была выбрана «активная» схема. Оружие разрабатывалось как многоствольное неавтоматическое.
     Разработкой оружия в ЦНИИТОЧ-МАШ занимался В. В. Симонов (внучатый племянник знаменитого отечественного оружейника С. Г. Симонова), 4,5-мм патрона СПС — П.Ф. Сазонов и О. П. Кравченко. Работы шли в сотрудничестве с Тульским оружейным заводом. В 1971 г. патрон СПС и четырехствольный пистолет под него были приняты на вооружение. Пистолет получил обозначение СПП-1 («специальный подводный пистолет, первого образца»).
     Условия движения пули под водой коренным образом отличаются от движения ее в воздухе.патрон СПП
     Пуля, покинув ствол, попадет в среду, отличающуюся от воздуха по плотности (а она выше в 800 раз), давлению, вязкости. К тому же вода несжимаема. Пуля с незначительным относительным удлинением (отношении длины пули к калибру) будет попросту опрокидываться, гироскопический эффект не обеспечит устойчивости движения такой пуле в воде. Однако если перейти к другой конструкции ствола и пули, недостатки можно обратить в достоинство.
     Пуля подводного патрона СПС имеет массу 13,2 г большого удлинения (около 25:1 — длина пули 115мм) с притуплённой носовой частью. Устойчивость движения такой пули под водой обеспечивается образованием вокруг нее почти по всей ее длине кавитационной полости (каверны) — явление гидродинамической кавитации проявляется при движении пули в воде с большой скоростью. Кавитационная полость способствует стабилизации движения пули. А поскольку нет необходимости «закручивать» пулю в канале ствола, выстрел производится из гладкого ствола, по которому пуля идет с зазором. Гильза патрона СПС имеет выступающую закраину.
     Дальность эффективной стрельбы пулей патрона СПС под водой падает с ростом глубины, но во всех случаях превышает дальность прямой видимости на соответствующей глубине.
     При этом пуля обеспечивает надежное поражение противника в гидрокостюме. Кроме того, СПП может применяться для защиты пловца от опасных морских хищников.
Пистолет имеет откидной блок из четырех стволов. Блок шарнирно крепится на цапфах рамки, для заряжания и перезаряжания откидывается вниз, как в «переломных» охотничьих ружьях. Такая схема соответствует большой длине патрона — 145 мм.
     Заряжание производится обоймой, в которой закреплены четыре патрона. С обоймой одновременно удаляются и стреляные гильзы.
     Самовзводный ударно-спусковой механизм включает вращающийся в поперечной плоскости ударник и обеспечивает последовательную стрельбу из стволов,. При каждом нажатии на спусковой крючок боек ударника поворачивается на 90° и, двигаясь по винтовому копиру, разбивает капсюль очередного патрона.

     С левой стороны в углублении рукоятки расположен флажок неавтоматического предохранителя, который также обеспечивает запирание блока стволов. Прицельное приспособление включают открытую мушку и постоянный целик.
     Пистолет СПП-1М (1979 г.) имеет пружину, облегчающую спуск, а увеличенная спусковая скоба допускает стрельбу в трехпалых утеплённых рукавицах пловца.
     Переносится пистолет в закрытой поясной кобуре из искусственной кожи. 12 патронов в обоймах помещаются в металлических пеналах.
     Производство 4,5-мм пистолета СПП-1М, как и 5,6-мм автомата подводной стрельбы АПС, было организовано на Тульском оружейном заводе. Прямых зарубежных аналогов этот комплекс вооружения пловцоваквалангистов не имеет.